Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors serves as an external advisory committee to the dean of the Pitt School of Education.

Our board members are prominent leaders in the field of education, research, policy, and health and physical activity, having worked as teachers, administrators, scholars, education consultants, and business leaders.

Board members include Pitt Education alumni, emeritus faculty, and friends of the school.

Current Board Members

Carol McGrevin, PhD
Chair of Board of Visitors

Retired teacher, elementary school principal, and assistant superintendent of schools
Retired faculty member at Georgia State University, Pepperdine University, Texas Christian University, and University of Northern Colorado Greely
Education Consultant

Rita Bean, PhD
Pitt Education Faculty Emeritus
Reading Hall of Fame Member and Reading Specialist

Anthony Hamlet, PhD
Pittsburgh Public Schools Superintendent

Vivian Mihalakis, PhD
Senior Program Officer, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Jerlean Daniel, PhD
Executive Director, National Association for the Education of Young Children (Retired)
Pitt Education Faculty Emeritus

Richard Goldman, PhD
Entrepreneur of numerous educational ventures
Board chair, Smart Horizons
Former dean, Nova Southeastern University Abraham S. Fischler School of Education 

Richard Ferguson, PhD (Iowa)
CEO and Chair of ACT (retired)
Co-founder, CEO, and Chairman of Malum, Inc, a new AI-enabled deep learning company focused on security and accident prevention
Active chairman of four ed-tech companies

Francesca Amati, M.D., PhD
Group Leader of Research, Department of Physiology, University of Lausanne

Namgi Park, PhD
Former President and Current Professor, Gwangju National University of Education

Yidan Wang, PhD
Senior Education Specialist, World Bank Education Global Practice

John Tomayko, PhD
Founder and President, Tomayko Group

Charlene Dukes, EdD
President, Prince George's Community College

Alan Utter, PhD
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Arkansas State University

Leon Wiles, PhD
Chief Diversity Officer, Clemson University (Retired)