Find information on school bylaws, shared governance, committees, and more.

Bylaws and Governance Structure

Our work is guided by and grounded in our unwavering commitment to sustain academic excellence and engagement. Review our bylaws and governance structure here.

School of Education Bylaws



The School of Education Council, which also serves as our School’s University mandated Planning and Budget Committee (PBC), is an elected body of faculty, staff, and students who advises the Dean regarding strategic planning, capital improvements, spatial renovations, and major budgetary matters. Council runs elections for membership on the Council and on the School’s Standing Committees, and ensures that any concerns of faculty, staff, and students are both heard and considered in important decision-making processes. Council also advises the Dean on overall strategies to enhance the professional culture and functionality of the School and to increase engagement among faculty, staff, students, and alumni. The Council and Planning and Budget Committee convenes monthly throughout the entire year, or as needed.

Budget and Planning Committee Members:

  • Tammeka Banks, Chair
  • Josh Bleiberg
  • Cassie Quigley
  • Shannon Wanless
  • Tommy Bost
  • Tammeka Banks
  • Dean
  • Two students elected in fall by the Council for Graduate Students in Education

Provide a transformative vision for our School community to come together around our explicit commitments to equity and justice and to make our work more collaborative, anti-racist, decolonial, and humanizing. Among other related duties, the committee is charged with the following: Creating space for dialogue and innovation on topics of equity and justice in education; partnering with faculty, staff, students, alumni, and community partners to examine ways to support and account for the various experiences of children, families, and communities; and initiating programs across the School and within multiple communities that advance equity and justice in education and that enhance the School’s efforts to recruit and retain historically diverse populations of faculty, staff, and students. The committee monitors the School’s compliance with the University policy around equal opportunity, diversity, and equity. The committee chair convenes an ad hoc committee each year to review applications and make selections of nominees and candidates for Equity and Justice graduate fellowships. The members of this particular ad hoc committee are chosen by the Associate Dean for Equity and Justice and include one faculty member from each department and one graduate student.

Equity & Justice Committee Members:

  • Eboni M. Zamani-Gallaher, Chair
  • Eleanor Anderson
  • Loretta Fernandez
  • Darris Means
  • Phillandra Smith
  • LaToya Walters
  • Shallegra Moye
  • One student

Serve as advocate for the School of Education staff and act as liaison for staff to the School’s administration and with the University’s Staff Council. The committee is charged with proposing, developing, and monitoring effective practices and procedures in the areas of staff performance review, professional development and mentoring, professional learning, and staff satisfaction. The chair works with committee members and the Dean to devise and execute a transformative charge and agenda for the committee that aligns with the School’s strategic plan and priorities.

Staff Engagement Committee:

  • Tammeka Banks, Co-Chair
  • Sarah Morgan, Co-Chair
  • Kelsey Cole
  • Karen Baker
  • Kelly Runco
  • Susan Sherlock
Back to Top